LEAP 2026 closed in Riyadh with nearly $15 billion of technology investments, agreements and announcements, according to Saudi Press Agency. The total spans AI infrastructure, data centres, cloud, technology manufacturing, venture capital and other programmes, so it should not be read as a $15 billion data-centre spending figure.
For Saudi Arabia's compute buildout, the more useful evidence is at project level. Several announcements now attach actual megawatt targets, launch dates or development stages to the broader ambition. Those numbers make it possible to distinguish infrastructure that is being built from cloud regions that are about to open and capacity that remains a longer-term target.
MIS put the clearest new capacity number on the table
Al Moammar Information Systems announced a $1.2 billion programme to expand data centres in Saudi Arabia and increase its operational capacity to a total of 192MW. The wording is important: 192MW is a target for total operational capacity, not evidence that 192MW is operating today.
That still makes the MIS announcement unusually useful. Many Gulf technology announcements disclose capital without power capacity, or power capacity without a delivery timetable. A target tied to an operator's total operational footprint can be tracked over time against commissioned facilities rather than treated as complete on announcement day.
NHC's 65MW project exposes a source-quality problem worth showing readers
NHC Innovation announced data centres at Khuzam Digital Valley with scalable capacity targeting 65MW by 2033. SPA's 1 September release put the project value at $880 million. Its 4 September closing summary described the same 65MW project at $800 million.
Gulf Business Review is not choosing one figure and silently discarding the other. Until NHC or another primary project document resolves the discrepancy, the capacity and 2033 target are more reliable reference points than a single dollar total. The conflicting values are also a useful reminder that event-roundup numbers should be checked against project-level releases before they enter permanent datasets.
AWS adds a launch date, while HUMAIN adds a separate AI-zone target
SPA says AWS's Saudi cloud region is due to launch in December 2026 as part of planned investment exceeding $5.3 billion. That should be tracked as a cloud-region availability milestone, not converted into megawatts because AWS has not disclosed a site-level MW figure in the cited material.
A separate AWS-HUMAIN plan targets up to 50MW of infrastructure within the first AI zone by 2028. These figures describe different things. The 50MW AI-zone capacity cannot simply be added to an undisclosed AWS region figure, and neither should be merged with HUMAIN's separate partnerships with Nvidia or DataVolt.
center3's 250MW is another programme that needs stage discipline
Saudi telecom infrastructure company center3 said it is developing AI-ready data-centre capacity starting at 250MW, alongside a partnership with HUMAIN spanning data centres, connectivity and go-to-market activity. The number is material, but the phrase 'starting at' is not a commissioning statement.
GBR therefore treats it as a development programme rather than 250MW of operating capacity. The same standard applies to every operator in the tracker. Announced design scale, under-development capacity and live capacity are separate states, even when all three appear in the same conference week.
The Red Sea buildout is moving one layer closer to delivery
Away from Riyadh, HUMAIN and DataVolt have already said 100MW is under development at Oxagon within a 360MW first phase. That is a stronger delivery signal because it identifies a site and a capacity currently being developed, although it is still not operating capacity.
Taken together, LEAP and Oxagon show why the Saudi AI infrastructure story is becoming more measurable. The market now has a mix of cloud launch dates, project MW, first-phase construction and long-term targets. The next editorial task is not to add all those numbers together, but to keep them separated long enough to see which ones become commissioned infrastructure.
What the $15 billion headline does and does not tell us
The conference total is useful as a measure of dealmaking intensity, but weak as an infrastructure metric. It mixes different sectors, transaction types and stages. One agreement can describe future spend, another a commercial partnership, another a plant and another a service launch.
For investors, customers and suppliers, the project table is more useful than the conference total. Power capacity, construction stage, operator, location and launch date determine whether an announcement becomes an investable supply chain, usable cloud capacity or simply another line in a national technology strategy.
| Project / operator | Disclosed value | Capacity / footprint | Stage at 4 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| MIS data-centre expansion | $1.2bn | Target total operational capacity of 192MW | Expansion announced; 192MW is a target |
| NHC Innovation / Khuzam Digital Valley | $880m in 1 Sep SPA release; $800m in 4 Sep SPA summary | 65MW by 2033 | Development announced; value discrepancy unresolved |
| AWS Saudi Arabia Region | > $5.3bn planned investment programme | MW not disclosed | Region scheduled to launch Dec 2026 |
| AWS + HUMAIN first AI zone | Not separately stated in cited summary | Up to 50MW by 2028 | Planned AI-zone infrastructure |
| center3 + HUMAIN | Not stated in cited summary | AI-ready capacity starting at 250MW | Development programme announced |
| HUMAIN + DataVolt Oxagon | Part of wider project programme | 100MW under development within 360MW first phase | Under development; not operating |
Frequently asked questions
Did LEAP 2026 announce $15 billion of Saudi data-centre investment?
No. SPA's nearly $15 billion conference total covers a wider set of investments, agreements and announcements across AI infrastructure, data centres, cloud computing, technology manufacturing, venture capital and other programmes.
How much new data-centre capacity did MIS announce?
MIS announced a $1.2 billion expansion programme targeting total operational capacity of 192MW. The 192MW figure is a target, not a statement that all of that capacity is already operating.
Why are there two investment values for NHC's Khuzam Digital Valley project?
SPA's 1 September release states $880 million, while its 4 September closing summary states $800 million for the 65MW project. GBR is preserving the discrepancy until a controlling project-level source resolves it.